I have seen people make sushi online and on cooking shows for years.  Never before would I have thought of making it myself – until now!

These past few postings have been quite inspiring culinary wise.  Last night I decided to try a few things I had been wanting to incorporate into a  meal.

I wanted to eat some nori since that was the next seaweed on my list for a meal. (Hijiki is coming…) I also wanted to try Jicama rice.  I had noticed this interesting recipe in the RAW FOOD REAL WORLD Cookbook.  And last but not least, I was craving some ginger in my food.

So Makizushi came into the mix last night!

Makizushi (lit. rolled sushi) or makimono (lit. variety of rolls) is cylindrical piece, formed with the help of a bamboo mat, called a makisu. Makizushi is generally wrapped in nori, but can occasionally be found wrapped in a thin omelette, soy paper, cucumber, or parsley. Makizushi is usually cut into six or eight pieces, which constitutes a single roll order. Below is a RAW FOOD RECIPE I came up with last night.

Jicama Rice

1 Lg Jicama

Preparation:  Chop Jicama into cubes and place in food processor with the “S” blade attachment.  Pulse into granular appearance.  Using cheese cloth, a nutbag or muslin squeeze all the excess water out of the jicama.

This is what it looks like after you squeeze the moisture out of it…

After that I chopped up some carrots and cucumbers…

Marinated some mushrooms…

5 small white button -or- cremini mushrooms

1/8 cup nama shoyu

1 small knob ginger, sliced into small matchsticks

3 tbs sesame oil

4 tbs olive oil

2 tbs rice vinegar

Preparation: Slice mushrooms very thinly.  Combine ginger, sesame oil, olive oil and nama shoyu in a small bowl.  Place mushrooms in marinade for 30+ minutes.

I spread the rice mixture onto a Nori sheet and topped the jicama rice with the vegetables, then mushrooms, avocado and cilantro.

Here was my first try…

To the right in an orange container is the water I was able to extract from the jicama.

Here is a close up…

This ended up being 11 oz of liquid!  It looked just like milk.  I saved this “water” and I am thinking of what to do with it.  Maybe make some sort of soup.  Depends on how it tastes…I’ll find out tonight.

Here are the sushi rolls cut and plated…

Overall this was a nice dinner.  I served a salad on the side.  My taste tester was quite happy with his meal! :)

GIVEAWAY!

Enter to win a free set of sushi rolling mats!

Subscribe to the blog or leave a comment with an email address.  I will draw the lucky name March 6, 2010.

Thanks for visiting!

Namaste!