Greetings from the Garden of

Veg888 Love & Kindness!

Hello Longevity Seekers!

As promised here I am with another race tale, a RAW food Recipe & a REVIEW 🙂

THE RACE

The 10k Grunion Run adventure began Saturday March 12 with a drive that would last  1 1/2 hrs! The drive on Saturday was nice and easy.  A bit slow.  My taste tester and I left about 10 am and arrived in Dana Point at about 11:20-ish.  I had NO IDEA it would take us that long to get there, but we needed to register and pick up our bibs for Sunday.

Since the drive took about an hour and a half on Saturday and the race was at 7am Sunday – I knew we had to be out of the house no later than 5:15 am. 😛

We left and began our drive.  Sunday, as you all know, was the first day of the time change! Whew!  We woke up at 4:20 am and did our usual ritual before a race.  Took the Yoga mat out and stretched, had our kick start elixr in the a.m. and played our “Spirit of the Marathon” DVD.

My taste tester is usually the one who pops in the DVD before the races and usually has a small area set up for me to WAKE UP! 🙂  Thank Goodness for the love and understanding a 10 yr relationship can bring you! Whew!

It was still quite dark when we left. As we drove to the race, my taste tester had to use the bathroom.  As we pulled into a parking lot we saw a small bunny go prancing by.  He was so cute with his little cotton tail and brown coat.  I thought to myself, maybe this is a sign we would do this race quickly…

This was the second 10k challenge!  The 10k Pepperdine race had taught me that I needed hydration during a longer run. 😛  I also didn’t like holding the bottle throughout the race.  Again, the benefits of a 10 yr relationship – by mile 4 to the FINISH LINE my taste tester held my bottle for me! 🙂  Yeah!

Since I wasn’t totally convinced he would stick with me this race, I wanted a hydration belt.  So what does someone do when they need reviews and info about any one subject?  Go online and research the hydration belts that are out there!

A REVIEW

I found a hydration belt that seemed to suit what I wanted by a company called AMPHIPOD.

I was introduced to this company by my sister and her new husband around X-mas time, when they gifted me a this really cool pouch I could carry my keys, ID and phone in while I run.  It clipped right onto my waist band. The really cool part about the product was that it didn’t bounce around AT ALL!  I figured since it was a good product and all of the reviews stated their belt was the best.  So I thought  I would try their hydration belt.

The belt itself was quite cool.  Initially it was difficult to put the bottle back into the clip and I struggled a bit while I ran, but mid race I moved the bottle to the front and it was ALL smooth sailing after that.  The next 10k race I run, I think I will try one of those bottles that has a grip on it.

What about you readers???  Do you have any thoughts or insights about this???

I filled the bottles with 10 pH water and was sooo happy I did!  Whew! I got thirsty.  I ended up leaving one of the bottles in the car and took one for the run.

Each bottle holds 10 oz of liquid.

The day before I drank a 1/2 gallon of the 10 pH water, had a spirulina shake, a really delicious Chia Drink and ate VERY LIGHTLY.  Veggies mostly.

Here is the Chia Drink

Mamma Chia

A close up…

Arriving at the Race…

We arrived at the beach about 6:00 am.  It was still dark and there was a very calm vibration in the air.  Most of the people running the 10k were in their 30 years plus.  VERY COOL!

Walking toward the Start Line!

THE COURSE

This was a fast – mostly FLAT course.  I really enjoyed this run and would like to do it next year. The course was clearly marked.

Miles 1-4 were nice and easy.  I didn’t really hit my “warm up level” until about mile 5.  I did however enjoy the fact that we ended up running more than a 10k!  We ran a total of 6.56 miles.  I felt as though I could have run another 3 miles!  As to if I really could have – well I will have to try that at another time! 🙂 (15k here I come!)

Mile 5

The ocean was so CALM.  This was the first time in a little while that I stopped and took a picture during the race.  At this point I saw I was a bit over an hour.

Sorry for the blurry picture…

I wanted to finish the 10k at 1hr 15min or no more than my last 10k –

I ended up finishing the 10k in the same amount of time, however once I looked down at my Garmin it read 6.56 miles instead of 6.2 miles.  That brought my pace to a 12 min 11 sec mile.  Faster than the Pepperdine which was a 13 min 54 sec mile.  I’ll keep working and working and working!

RAW FOOD

After the race I had a wonderful Date and RAW Cocoa shake! YUM!

For the next 4 hours I wanted nothing but ALKALINE foods in my system! I figured it was a FABULOUS recovery method! 🙂

I made a Mineral Rich Crust Pizza with Avocado and Jalepeno Hummus! Served it with salad and little tomatoes!

Mineral Rich Crusts…

Topped with Avocado and Hummus…

And finally…

We drank a lot of water and went to bed pretty early!!!

TODAY

I made my first CHIA drink to enjoy.  This miracle seed is said to help with staying hydrated AND endurance.  How could I not drink this wonderful SUPERFOOD???

CHIA REFRESCA

CHIA STRAWBERRY DRINK

1 cup Chia Gel(*)

7-12 Strawberries

Directions:  Place strawberries in blender and blend.  Pour into a mason jar and/or container with a lid.  Shake and Pour!

(*) To make Chia Gel – 2 TBS + 1 CUP WATER = Allow to soak overnight.

*PLEASE NOTE:  You can add agave, date sugar, stevia or any other natural sweetner if you wish.  I liked it au natural*

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Love & Light!

Namaste!